8 August 2012

Media Release 

Māori Language Awards celebrating excellence 

The Māori Language Awards application deadline has been extended to 5pm, Monday, 20th August, with applications being called for now. “The deadline extension is to allow time for the many new and previous entrants who celebrated te reo Māori across the country this year,” says Glenis Philip-Barbara, Chief Executive of Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori (the Māori Language Commission).

“This was matched with this year’s media promotion. It has been overwhelming with an increase in radio and television coverage and print coverage, including media outlets joining in too,” says Glenis Philip-Barbara. “I encourage all entrants, previous entrants and new-comers to get their Māori Language Award entries in by 5pm, Monday, 20th August”.

“The awards were established to recognise and celebrate the work that people do in support of our nation’s indigenous language all year long and includes a special category for Māori Language Week,” says Glenis Philip-Barbara. The awards’ categories include the private sector, community, local government, broadcasting, print, IT and telecommunications, education, tertiary and Māori Language Week.

The awards criteria and entry form can be found online at .

The Māori Language Award winners will be announced Friday, 16th November 2012 at the awards evening at the TECT Arena, Baypark, Tauranga.


Nicky Birch
021 475 782  




Māori Language Week is made possible with the support of:

Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori – Māori Language Commission
Te Puni Kōkiri – Ministry of Māori Development
Te Kāhui Tika Tangata – Human Rights Commission