Kua tino toa a Tokoroa - Ngā Tohu Wiki Reo Māori 2006
Tokoroa the Supreme Winner - Māori Language Week Awards 2006

Horomia and winners A partnership between the Raukawa Māori Trust Board and the South Waikato District Council has earned the admiration and praise of judges who selected it as the Supreme Winner of the 2006 Māori Language Week Awards. 

Announced last night at the awards gala event in Wellington, the judges commended the Trust Board for its foresight and commitment to ‘nurturing te reo Māori as a living language for everyone in their community’.

Working with the Trust Board, the District Council has macronised and corrected misspelled street signs and is erecting bilingual signage on key buildings in the town.  It is also placing te reo Māori plaques in local parks, reserves and waahi tapu. 

This activity has emanated from the Trust Board’s Māori language strategy ‘Whakareia te kakara o te hinu raukawa’ which gives priority to strengthening the use of te reo as a key feature of their peoples’ development.

Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori Chief Executive and award judge, Haami Piripi said the Trust Board’s language revitalisation plan bore the hallmarks of an outstanding entry because of the obvious impact it had on the language locally and because it was a well-defined long term approach to make Māori language a normal part of everyday life.

“When developing its plan, the Trust Board recognised the value of having the support of the entire community.  The language partnership between the Trust Board and the South Waikato District Council is the first of its kind and is a model for other territorial authorities around the country because it shows what can be achieved when local people can pool their strengths.” 

Auckland was also a big winner at the awards scooping four of the 14 category awards: for tertiary institutions; local body; library and business.  Wellington was close behind picking up three awards: for television, the arts, and central government.  Meanwhile the Bay of Plenty won the radio and school categories and Waikato took away the community award, new inaugural award and shared the print media award with Gisborne.  Christchurch was recognised in the new sports category.

A full list of 2006 Māori Language Award winners and sponsors of each category is attached.

On behalf of the judging panel, Mr Piripi praised all the finalists, “for walking the walk and giving te reo Māori a go.”        

“The record number of entries we had this year; the addition of three new categories and our growing sponsor list shows the groundswell of support around the country for the language.   People are now recognising the language’s ability to change and adapt and that it can add tremendous value to our lives in modern times.

“Congratulations to the winners and all our finalists on their achievements, in particular for setting a new benchmark for others to aspire to at the 2007 Māori Language Week Awards.”

The awards are a signature event organised by Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori.  Sponsors and supporters include Sport and Recreation New Zealand, Ministry of Education, Child, Youth & Family; National Library, Toi Iho, Māori Television; Cinco Cine Film Productions & Mai FM; JR Design & Lithoservices; Reed Publishing, Te Puni Kōkiri and Te Ohu Kaimoana.

The Māori Language Week Awards were held at the Westpac Stadium, Wellington. 


For more information contact: Lana Simmons-Donaldson, Communications Manager, Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori on 04 416 724 or               0274 574 551        

Winners - Māori Language Week Awards 2006

Local Body Award sponsored by Human Rights Commission
Auckland District Health Board
Public Library Award sponsored by National Library
ELGAR - Libraries for a Greater Auckland Region
Central Government Award sponsored by Te Puni Kōkiri
Ministry of Education
Media - Print Award sponsored by JR design & Lithographic services
Gisborne Herald & Fairfax NZ Newspapers in Education (joint winners)
Media - Television Award sponsored by Māori Television
Media - Radio Award sponsored by Kōrero Māori - Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori
Moana Communications
Community Award sponsored by Child, Youth & Family
Raukawa Trust Board
Sport Award sponsored by SPARC - Ihi Aotearoa
NZ Rogaine Association & Wairewa Rünanga (joint entry)
Art Award sponsored by Toi Iho
City Gallery - Wellington
Business Award sponsored by Reed Publishing
Diagnostic Medlab
School Award sponsored by Ministry of Education
Te Kura Kaupapa Māori ō Rotoiti

Tertiary Institution Award sponsored by Kōrero Māori - Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori
Manukau Institute of Technology

Inaugural Award sponsored by Cinco Cine Film Productions & Mai FM
South Waikato District Council
Supreme Award sponsored by Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori
Raukawa Trust Board

Māori Language Week is made possible through the support and co-operation of:
Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori – Māori Language Commission
Te Puni Kōkiri – Ministry of Māori Development
Te Kāhui Tika Tangata – Human Rights Commission