Nga ropu i uru ai 2007-2008
Participating organisations 2007-2008


Celebration of Maori Language Week began in 1975. Since then thousands of people have supported efforts to promote the week. In 2003 Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Maori began leading promotional activities and has listed the names of the many who have been involved.

In 2008 the theme of Maori Language Week is 'Te Reo i te Kainga - Maori Language in the Home.'  This year 2009 the theme is 'Te Reo i te Hapori - Maori Language in the Community'.

These organisations all did something to mark Maori Language Week 2008 by buying
resources, co-ordinating activities, providing news coverage or entering or sponsoring the Maori Language Week Awards. If you're doing something to support Maori Language Week and wish to be listed on this page, email us at:, providing the name of your organisation and events.

Tourism Sector

Maori Tourism Council
Air New Zealand
KPR Catering


JR Design
Cinco Cine
Signify Ltd
AC Nielsen
Canterbury Library Book Suppliers
Office of the Ombudsman
Borders Books
Diagnostic Medlab
Palm Cottage
ProCare Health Ltd
Westland REAP
Auckland Workers Educational Association
First Assistance
IDEA services
Network Communications

Government agencies

Alcohol Advisory Council of New Zealand
Child, Youth and Family Services
Child, Youth and Family Services - Grey Lynn
Department of Corrections
Department of Internal Affairs
Inland Revenue Department
Human Rights Commission
Land Transport New Zealand

Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry
Ministry of Economic Development
Ministry of Education
Ministry of Fisheries
Ministry of Tourism
Ministry of Transport

Statistics New Zealand
Tertiary Education Commission
Te Puni Kokiri
Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Maori
Waitangi Tribunal
Department of Corrections
Land Information NZ
Ministry of Social Development
NZ Childcare Association
NZ Family Planning Assoc
NZ History
Tourism NZ
Human Rights Commission
The New Zealand Qualifications Authority
National Library of NZ
Police College

Libraries / Councils

Christchurch Art Galley
Environment Waikato Regional Council
Hastings District Council
Hutt City Council
Lakes District Health Board
Northland Regional Council
Orewa Library
Porirua City Council
Rodney District Council
South Waikato District Libraries - Tokoroa
Tauranga City Libraries
Te Papa Tongarewa
Waimakariri District Libraries
Waitemata District Health Board
Wellington City Council
Western Bay of Plenty District Council
Whangarei District Council
Auckland Regional Council
City Gallery Wellington
Health Promotion Unit – TDHB
Hutt City Libraries
Kawerau District Library
Wellington Regional Council
Whakatane District Council
Whanganui District Library
Whangarei District Council
Youth Inpatient Unit, Princess Margaret Hospital, Christchurch
Masterton District Library
Porirua Public Library
South Taranaki  Library Plus
Taranaki DHB
Taupö District Council
Tauranga City Council
Te Tari Puna Ora o Aotearoa
Dunedin Public Library
Environment - Bay of Plenty
Archives NZ
Community & Public Health
Minstry of Foreign Affairs and Trade
North Waikato Early Intervention
Te Whetu Tawera

Sports, Health, Community organisations

NZ Lotteries
Auahi Kore
Sport Northland
Sport Southland
Mäori Womens Welfare League
Ngai Tahu
Te Kohao Health Clinic
Kirikiriroa Marae
Te Waipuna Puawai
Adult Reading Assistance Scheme, CHCH
Volunteer Wellington
Te Huarahi Tamariki


Good Morning
What Now
Big Wednesday
Te Karere
Maori Television Service
Te Kaea
Ask your Auntie

Radio New Zealand
Te Hiku Media
Te Upoko o Te Ika
George FM
Niu FM
Radio Tainui
Radio Waatea

Tu Mai Magazine
Mana Magazine
Waikato Times
NZ Herald
Gisborne Herald
Christchurch Press
Dominion Post
Education Gazette

Scoop – Independent News
Google Maori


Ahipara School
Correspondence School
Heretaunga College
Te Wänanga o Ruakawa
Hutt Valley High School Languages Department
Kapiti College
Manukau Institute of Technology
Tauranga Girls College
Lincoln University
Murrays Bay Primary School
Department of Human Nutrition, University of Otago
Papakura Normal School
St Heliers School
St Leonards School
St Patricks Napier
Te Wharekura o Arowhenua
Titahi Bay Playcentre
Whitireia Community Polytechnic
Ashhurst School
Beckenham School
Feilding High School
Hamilton Childcare Services
Hamilton Girls High School
Hawera Intermediate School
Henderson Intermediate School
Howick Intermediate School
Iona College
Jean Batten Primary School
John Paul II High School, Greymouth
Kamo High School
Mellons Bay School
Mokoia Intermediate School
Mt Eden Normal School
Napier Girls High School
Ngä Iwi Primary School
Randwick School
Tamatea Intermediate School
Te Kura Kaupapa Mäori o Ngäti Rangi
The Gardens School, Manukau
Tuahiwi School
Twizel Area School
Waikato Diocesan School
Waimate High School
Waitara East School
Woolston School
Appletree Education Centre
Massey University
Orongomai Marae Private Training
Te Kohao o te Ngira Kohanga Reo
Student Health Service – University of Otago
Wellington Girls College
Newtown School


  • Participating Organisations 2003

  • Participating Organisations 2004

  • Participating Organisations 2005

  • Participating Organisations 2006

Maori Language Week is made possible through the support and co-operation of:
Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Maori – Maori Language Commission
Te Puni Kokiri – Ministry of Maori Development
Te Kahui Tika Tangata – Human Rights Commission