Ngā Tohu Wiki Reo Māori Tuatahi 2004
Inaugural Māori Language Week Awards 2004

2004 AwardsThe Inaugural Māori Language Week Awards dinner was held in Wellington on 14 September 2020.  Television New Zealand’s Hone Edwards (pictured) accepted the Supreme Award on behalf of his organisation. The event was described as a great example of nation-building.

The awards recognised the creative ways organisations, schools, community groups, local bodies, libraries, businesses and media promoted the Māori language during Māori Language Week,  26 July – 1 August 2004. The Awards focused on activities during Māori Language Week so judges could compare efforts over a set period of time.

Two hundred guests, mostly from outside of Wellington, representing a cross section of Māori, Pākehā and Pacific Island communities attended the dinner. Minister of Māori Affairs Hon. Parekura Horomia opened proceedings. Hon. Georgina Te Heuheu and Stephen Franks were the other Members of Parliament in attendance. Radio and Television personality Kim Hill was another noteworthy guest. Matai Smith (Pūkana) and Piripi Taylor (Kōrero Mai) were the Masters of Ceremony. Their services were sponsored by Cinco Cine Film Productions, who also sponsored the School Award. Whirimako Black provided entertainment.

More than 40 entries were received in the nine categories, presented to two judging panels. The first panel who judged the winners and place-getters in each of the categories included Wayne Ngata (Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori), Bobby Newson (Te Kāhui Tika Tangata) and Peter Douglas (representing Te Puni Kōkiri). The second panel judged the Supreme Award – the best of the best. This panel included Haami Piripi (Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori), Patsie Karauria (representing Te Puni Kōkiri) and Holden Hohaia (representing Te Kāhui Tika Tangata).

Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori organised the Awards with the support of many organisations and individuals. In particular, our thanks go to Betty Hauraki of Te Whakaruruhau o ngā Reo Irirangi; Jenny Ralston, Brett Dumbleton and Craig Dunlop of JR Design; Te Puni Kōkiri and Te Kāhui Tika Tangata.

Sponsors of the Awards included Te Puni Kōkiri, Ngāi Tahu Seafood, Mā Te Reo, Cinco Cine Film Productions, Pronto Print, Te Māngai Pāho, National Library, Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori, Huia Publishers, Tohu Wines. Reed Publishers also provided some book.

It is envisaged that the Awards will be held annually on 14 September Māori Language Day. This day commemorates the landmark day in 1972, when a petition of 30,000 signatures was presented to parliament calling for the teaching of te reo Māori in all secondary schools.

Me pēhea ahau whakauru ai?
How do I get involved?

Now’s the time to start planning your Māori Language Week activities for the last week of July. Whether its adding Māori vocabulary to your exhibition signage or producing your radio advertisements in te reo Māori, there are hundreds of ways to support Māori language and those who speak it.

This year’s theme is about tourism and travelling around Aotearoa, and using the greeting ‘kia ora’ every day. Once you’ve organised your activity, click the link and enter this year’s awards. Kia kaha ake – give it a go!

Ngā Toa o 2004
2004 Award Winners:

Te Tohu Tari Kāwanatanga
Central Government Award
Te Tari Mahi - Department of Labour
Sponsored by Te Puni Kökiri

Te Tohu Mahi Pakihi

Business Award
Te Whare Wānaka o Waitaha – Canterbury University
Sponsored by Ngāi Tahu Seafood

Te Tohu Hapori
Community Award
Te Whakaruruhau ki Ōtautahi – Christchurch Community House
Sponsored by Mā Te Reo

Te Tohu Kura
School Award
Albany School
Sponsored by Cinco Cine Film Productions

Te Tohu Tā
Print Award
Gisborne Herald
Sponsored by Pronto Print

Te Tohu Reo Irirangi
Radio Award
Niu FM
Sponsored by Te Māngai Pāho

Te Tohu Pouaka Whakaata
Television Award
Te Reo Tātaki – Television New Zealand
Sponsored by Te Māngai Pāho

Te Tohu Kaunihera-ā-Rohe/Whare Pukapuka
Library Award
Ngā Kete Wānanga-o-Ōtautahi – Christchurch City Libraries
Sponsored by National Library

Te Tohu Rangatira
Supreme Award
Te Reo Tātaki – Television New Zealand
Sponsored by Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori


Māori Language Week is made possible through the support and co-operation of:
Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori – Māori Language Commission
Te Puni Kōkiri – Ministry of Māori Development
Te Kāhui Tika Tangata – Human Rights Commission