Ideas for Maori Language Week 


Te puni kokiri

























He Huia Kaimanawa 2009 He Huia Kaimanawa Logo


Finalists for 2009 Maori Language Awards announced

The finalists for the 2009 Maori Language Awards were announced today.  In one of the busiest Maori language promotion years yet, 30 finalists in nine categories have been identified.  A further four entrants have been noted by the judges as highly commended, and there will be a special presentation of two new awards, Taku Toa Takimano and Te Tira Aumangea for an individual and a group who have made outstanding and long-term contributions to the regeneration of te reo Maori.

Huhana Rokx, Chief Executive of Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Maori (The Maori Language Commission) says, “Congratulations to all finalists, particularly for their efforts and commitment to te reo Maori.  Everyone, finalists, entrants and those who participated and support the Maori language are to be congratulated.  The Maori language has had unprecedented coverage in the media capturing much of the activity throughout the nation.”

The finalists by category for the 2009 Maori Language Awards are: Print MediaFairfax Media NiE, Ngai Tauira, Victoria University, Gisborne Herald; RadioKotuku Rerenga Tahi Ltd, Radio NZ, Moana Communications; TelevisionCinco Cine, TVNZ, TVNZ – Praise Be; CommunityRaukawa Trust Board, Orakei Marae, Counties Manukau Sport, Te Whare Ahorangi; Local Body OrganisationsWhakatane District Council, Auckland Regional Council,Wellington City Council; BusinessTe Puia, Cinco Cine, Haemata Ltd; SchoolsNga Iwi Primary School, Te Kura Kaupapa Maori o te Hiringa, Sir Keith Park Special School, Starship Children’s Health; Maori Language Week - Maori Television, Ngai Tauira, Victoria University, TVNZ, CPIT Te Puna Wanaka; Tertiary InstitutionsThe University of Auckland, Massey University,Ngai Tauira, Victoria University, AUT University.

Winners of the nine categories, the highly commended entrants and the winners of the new awards will be announced Friday afternoon, 16th October at the Maori Language Awards which will be the final part of He Huia Kaimanawa – The Maori Language Expo taking place at Te Rauparaha Arena and Event Centre in Porirua.

The Supreme Award, Te Tohu Huia Kaimanawa, will also be announced at the event on Friday.

For more information regarding He Huia Kaimanawa, or the Maori Language Awards, please contact Betty Hauraki on 04 471 6042 or  All media enquiries should be directed to Debra Jensen.

Debra Jensen
027 231 4297  





Maori Language Week 2009 was made possible through the support of:
Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Maori – Maori Language Commission

Te Puni Kokiri – Ministry of Maori Development
Te Kahui Tika Tangata – Human Rights Commission