22 July 2020

Media Release 

Second year running Language Perfect allows free access 

Language Perfect, a language vocabulary teaching programme available in schools and tertiary institutions around the country, is again allowing free access for everyone to learn te reo Māori vocabulary across the month of July in celebration of Māori Language Week 2012.

The programme teaches vocabulary of other languages, including correct pronunciation guides, and runs online competitions between all the subscribing schools and organisations nationally and internationally.

The competition is called the ‘World Languages League’ and to acknowledge Māori Language Week celebrations, te reo Māori has been designated as the focus of the competition for the month of July.

“There are already more than 110,000 students from 400 schools here and in Australia subscribed to Language Perfect. The opportunity to both profile te reo Māori and enable more people access self directed learning with Language Perfect was too good to pass up, and we are glad to support this initiative for the second year running”, says Chief Executive, Glenis Philip Barbara.

To access the programme freely, go to and once there key in the following code: QD64LYHU. You’ll be signed up to the Māori Language Week class and will continue through to create a log in and password. Once this is completed you’ll have access to the programme, and be able to learn Māori language vocabulary at your convenience.

“We acknowledge co-founder of Language Perfect, Craig Smith for approaching us with this initiative. This programme offers yet another way for learners of the language to enhance their language skills by focusing purely on vocabulary retention. We wish all competing students the best in the World Languages League competition” says Glenis Philip-Barbara.



Nicky Birch
021 475 782

Language Perfect:
Scott Cardwell +64 (0)3 669 0311, support@languageperfect.comm

TV news item -  




Māori Language Week is made possible with the support of:

Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori – Māori Language Commission
Te Puni Kōkiri – Ministry of Māori Development
Te Kāhui Tika Tangata – Human Rights Commission